• Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

CONTACT:

Timothy Verdesca

14 rue Verdaine

1204 Genève

+41(0)79/208.15.54

contact@timverdesca.com

"Six extraordinary compositions in an exciting superb performance" (QFTF)

TIM V // BERLIN SUITE

The first bases of the Berlin Suite project came into being in the spring of 2015. During his six-month stay in the German capital, Swiss composer and musician, Tim Verdesca, saturated by the atmosphere of the city, decided to write a series of musical pieces in the form of a sequel.

As an ardent follower of the many jam sessions and concerts that he frequents every night, Tim Verdesca met some of the most prominent jazz musicians in Berlin. They gathered for a first session, and that was it! The project was born!

 

A sense of cohesion and camaraderie set in quickly within the group, encouraging the musicians to invite more of their friends for a tour Tim would organise on his return back home. This idea began taking shape in January 2016 with sic concerts particularly well received in clubs in the Lake Geneva region.

 

Building on this success, the Berlin Suit project was recorded and filmed 'live' in the summer of 2017 and was to be presented through the course of a new series of tour dates in Switzerland, including one at the JazzContreBand festival.

 

 The TIM V // Berlin Suite album is signed by the Berlin label QFTF (Lee Konitz, Baiju Bhatt & Red Sun, Marie Krüttli) www.qftf.net

 

Musicians:
Tim Verdesca (CH) - bass, compositions, leader

Zacharie Ksyk (FR) - trumpet
Thijs De Klijn (NL) - guitar
Doron Segal (IL) - piano
Mathias Ruppnig (AT) – drums

Baiju Bhatt (CH) - violin (guest on "E")

TimV01MedRes_edited.png

TIM V // BERLIN SUITE

Les premières bases du projet Berlin Suite voient le jour au printemps 2015. C’est durant son séjour de six mois dans la capitale allemande que le compositeur et musicien suisse Tim Verdesca, imprégné par l’atmosphère de la ville, décide d’écrire une série de pièces musicales, pensées comme une suite.


Adepte des nombreuses jam sessions et concerts auquel il assiste tout les soirs, Tim Verdesca rencontre certains musiciens jazz  les plus en vue de la ville qu'il rassemble pour une première session : Ca y est, le projet est né !

La cohésion et la complicité s’installant rapidement au sein du groupe donne l’envie au musicien d’inviter ses compères pour une tournée qu’il organise dès son retour. Celle-ci se concrétise en janvier 2016 avec six concerts particulièrement bien accueillis dans les clubs de la région lémanique.

Fort de ce succès, le projet Berlin Suite est enregistré et filmé « live » durant l’été 2017 pour être présenté à l’occasion d’une nouvelle série de dates en Suisse, dont une au festival JazzContreBand, puis dans une  version orchestrale avec l'orchestre Nexus au studio Ansermet à Genève la et Salle Paderewski à Lausanne, enregistrée par la RTS  en septembre 2019.

L’album « TIM V // Berlin Suite » est signé chez le label berlinois QFTF (Lee Konitz, Baiju Bhatt & Red Sun, Marie Krüttli)
www.qftf.net

Tim Verdesca (CH) - basse, compositions

Zacharie Ksyk (FR) - trompette


Thijs De Klijn (NL) - guitare


Doron Segal (IL) - piano


Mathias Ruppnig (AT) – batterie
Baiju Bhatt (CH) - Violon ('invité sur "E")